NaNoWriMo 2015 – Finally! A Plot!

where i belong

So this year for NaNoWriMo, I will be bringing my 2012 attempt back, titled “Where I Belong.”

I’ve reformulated this so much over the past 3+ years, and it has changed drastically. But I’ve never been able to let the idea die.

It went from a super dramatic novel about a girl with amnesia who’s actually been kidnapped and doesn’t know it, to a more family-oriented drama about a girl with amnesia who just wants to figure out who she is before she heads off to college.

There’s a lot of family dynamic involved. She has a hard time trusting them, always wondering maybe they’re using the amnesia to their advantage – to make her into the daughter they were proud of. Was she not that daughter before?

I have the first 50 pages (double spaced) done, but I will be rewriting those as well. That’s a lot of words ;).

I’m excited for this. I think this novel is probably the best one I’ve done in awhile, and I haven’t been able to pick it up since I graduated from college. But this November, I want so bad to finally finish a full draft.

We’ll see what happens!

15 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015 – Finally! A Plot!

  1. Thrilled to hear you are working something you started 3 years ago! I’m in a similar boat revisiting letters my dad wrote while I was at child that I inherited when he passed in 2010. Let’s make this NaNoWriMo the best one yet!

  2. Good for you! My story idea has been cooking in my head for the past couple years at least, and I finally have been putting more work into the premise and a bunch of scene sketches to get to know my characters better. My story has to do with memory, too, and I’m looking forward to finally finishing a first draft. Some of the elements in this story have been in short stories I’ve written that just didn’t work. Here’s hoping we both finish our first drafts this NaNoWriMo and that we keep going until we have finished drafts ready to send off to a publisher. Take care, and enjoy NaNoWriMo!

  3. That’s a fascinating idea – how could she know or prove whether she’s being manipulated, or everything is as it always was? I have a weakness for writing characters with memory issues too, it seems a bit underappreciated as a source of conflict, and memory forms so much of who we are. Good luck finishing your draft, this November is going to rock!

    • I agree it is underappreciated. Maybe though that’s because it’s difficult to understand in general. I have no idea if my plot is scientifically accurate. But at this point, I don’t really care. I don’t think it’s too far off. But I’m with you, it is such a great source of conflict. Good luck to you as well!

  4. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | Musings of Danielle

Leave a Reply

