NaNoWriMo PANIC!

So here I was, thinking “Oh. I outlined this novel a couple years ago. I don’t need to figure anything out before November 1st.”

I was so wrong. And thankfully I’ve discovered this at least a few days in advance.

I realized that where I left off in my last draft of this novel was a point where a whole slew of new characters were about to be introduced. Like literally 5 at one time. Characters that had names, but no personalities established. And they are drastically different people than the other characters that are already alive in the story.

So TODAY is all about developing some characters. And a fun group that I do not particularly think I would be friends with myself. 😉 That’s what makes this fun though, right? RIGHT!?

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo PANIC!

  1. If it makes you feel better, I’m going into my 11th NaNoWriMo and wrote a book a month for a year, and I’ve never once used an outline or done preparation before the first.

    No need to panic – promise.

    • I typically don’t do much planning myself! I’m not a pantser, but not a planner either. Some foundations though I always appreciate later on having put down. Like at least a few notes on odd characters like these. I’m not really panicking per se, but I’m somewhere close.

      • That’s probably not a bad plan, especially with 5 characters all taking the stage at once.

        I’m really good at misplacing my notes, mostly. Heh. Though, I *do* keep a running log of attributes and history for each character as I go at the bottom of my NaNo draft. I use to for later edits and it helps pad my word count.

  2. Best of luck in the Nanowrimo. I haven’t done a NaNo but if I had any advice it would be to “Grip it and rip it.” Don’t look back just keep pressing on, writing without fear. Besides, what would possibly go wrong?

    rob

Leave a Reply

