NaNo ’15: On Starting Over After Day One

I stayed up until the time changed last night starting my new novel. Well, restarting. Because it’s a rewrite, remember? I got 1,800 words done before bed.

Well I woke up this morning after having had a Hollywood movie-style dream. I think I’ve reinvigorated the creative part of my brain now that I’m writing again. And damn, the dream I had started swirling in my head. I usually forget my dreams, but not this one.

So when I sat down to keep writing after lunch this afternoon, I had no desire to continue my novel. I was so pumped for this rewrite. It was going to be awesome. I had enough plotted that I felt like I was going to have a semi-decent piece of work at the end of the month.

But I don’t want to write something I’m not feeling. And I am just really not feeling it today. And if I’m being honest with myself, I wasn’t really feeling it last night either. But I pushed through it. Figured it had just been awhile. I just needed to power through and then the excitement of the story would come back. It didn’t.

So. I made the executive decision.

I’m starting over.

I’m still aiming for 50,000 words on this new piece. I mean it’s still Day 1. Worst comes to worst, the 1,800 words still count. I still wrote them in November.

I’m running with a play off the dream I had last night. But I’m writing by the seat of my pants. Once I have a more definitive idea of what the hell I’m doing, I’ll try to share a brief summary or something. But right now, it’s still building itself.

How’s your novel going so far? Hopefully better than mine!

16 thoughts on “NaNo ’15: On Starting Over After Day One

  1. Good luck! And, don’t worry! You’re not the only one.. I have no idea what is going to happen in my story but sometimes you just have to ‘let it go’ and let the characters speak. Best things happen when you least expect them (at least that’s what I keep telling myself).

  2. Whoo-hoo!! I applaud you and your executive decision. NaNo isn’t about revision. It’s the beginning. I don’t even call my NaNo a ‘first draft.’ It’s an exploration. With heart. And you have a big one. So go for it. Go go go!! Wheee…

  3. Oh, I was so sure I would clear 5000 words today…NO!!! To be honest, I spent 2 hours free writing stuff that was like, “Then she gets this message, then this ghost shows up, then she has this conversation…” none of which counts toward NaNoWriMo word counts. So that plus nearly 4000 words is still a good day. Tomorrow I will clear 5000 words or die trying.

    • That all counts. I use namo to do a very detailed outline. Sometimes, I include dialog sometimes I don’t. I start off with lots of, they go here and then do this, kind of thing. As the outline takes shape so do those sentences. This week, I am finishing a book that started as a namo outline back in 2011. During namo this year, I’m outlining the sequel.

  4. By the way, I have officially participated in NaNoWriMo 5 times. 2 times I had a fresh new concept and won. (Woo hoo!) 3 times I had a concept that needed revised/expanded and I failed to complete the 50K word challenge. This month is for fresh, new ideas that pull you out of bed. Work on the other stuff the remaining 11 months of the year,

  5. This is almost exactly what I’ve done. I had 2200 words of junk and wasn’t feeling it, so I went to some notes I had about a dream from a few months ago. It took off! Good luck with yours!!

  6. I’m also writing about a dream that wont leave me alone. Like you said it just wont fade from meomory so I figured I better put it on paper. When I’m done maybe it will start haunting someone else.

  7. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Where I Belong #1 | The Caffeinated Writer

Leave a Reply

