NaNo Day 3 Update

zAGzpQg

I’ve made it 3 days into NaNo 2015! Huzzah!

It’s hard to consider that it’s only the third day right now. I feel like I’ve been through most of the month already (although my word count doesn’t quite reflect that, so I’m glad I’m wrong). I guess that’s what happens though when you go from having a semi-plotted novel to becoming a complete pantser.

Changing my novel was the best idea I had. Writing this novel has been fun so far. There’s no stress to make it good. It’s a first draft – and at this moment, probably like 85% dialogue so you can definitely tell it’s a first draft.

I feel like the plot (whatever it may be) is moving along really well. What I do know is that she’s going to kill someone in self-defense. (But if you read my excerpt you already knew that.) 😉 But I don’t know who it is yet. I want it to be a surprise – unexpected. Not someone that’s crossed her during the beginning of the novel. I like surprises. Making people keep turning the page. That’s my style. 🙂 She has to figure out how to cover it up because she convinces herself that they won’t see it as self-defense.

Where I’m at right now, she’s pretty angry. So it might happen soon! Past that major plot point, however, I’m quite unsure of where this is going. I don’t want it to be a traditional “murder”/cover up story. So I’m just going to keep writing and see where this goes.

just-keep-writing-doryMy tip for anyone this far in that’s getting stuck already?

< —-

Push through the hard parts. Sometimes that’s where those breakthroughs come from.

Word count is 6,942. And I still need to get some words in today.

How’s NaNo going for you so far? Hopefully well!

6 thoughts on “NaNo Day 3 Update

  1. I know what you mean. I can’t believe this is only day four. It’s more consuming than I expected. If it wasn’t NaNo, if I wasn’t writing in a completely non-linear fashion and focussing on scenes that grab my attention at any on time, I’d have paused already. Go you, you’re doing well with your wordcount 🙂

  2. Good luck to you! 🙂 My NaNo is going slowly but steadily… Word count: 10905 – but half of it is stuff I’ve written a couple of months ago. I just had to give it a new shape and continue the idea. I hope I can move things forward – the hardest thing is for me putting my seeminly briliant ideas into words in a Word document and then realizing it’s not briliant at all, deleting it, rewriting it and then saying: Meh. And not postponeing the next session of writing.

Leave a Reply

