20,000 Word Achievement

I feel like I earn an update on here every 5,000 words I hit. I know other people agreed with my previous post that NaNo should have a progress badge for every 5,000 words. The badges may be meaningless, but they sure are good for motivation! But nooo. Hit 10k, no badge til 25k. Hit 25k, no badge til 40k!? Sheesh!

So, here I am patting myself on the back for my 20,000th word!

20000

(yes, that is made out of Goldfish. no, I did not take this picture myself LOL)

I hit 19k around the time I wanted to go to bed last night, but I just couldn’t get myself to close the computer when I was so close to 20,000 words. So I stayed up past my bedtime and kept writing.

It appears I’ve managed to get away from the stonewall I was at this weekend. Yesterday I wrote a total of 4,034 words (a combo of what I wrote last night up until midnight, and what I wrote the night before after midnight). After midnight last night I wrote an additional 1,020 words. I clearly do my best writing late at night. I’m kinda starting to miss going to bed at the same time as my fiance though…

Just as it happens in every single thing I ever write, my MC ended up in the hospital during my writing session last night. But she’s fine. Got sent home after a few hours. She’s pretty messed up emotionally, and that definitely won’t be changing any time soon.

I’m hoping the writing just keeps coming along. I feel like the pacing is perfect thus far, and I already have ideas on how to interject some more insight into my MC. It’s a first person POV and she tends to be quite snarky, but I lose a lot of it during tenser scenes because I focus too hard on what’s happening in front of her and lose her personality in the process. But that’s for December!

If you’ve hit a rut, just remember that you’ve still got 2/3 of the month left. And make sure you celebrate the little achievements. If that’s 5,000 words, good for you. It’s that 1,000 words, right on! Do what you have to do. The end outcome may not be the best piece of writing you’ve ever done, but a first draft is just that.

So power on, my friends.

11 thoughts on “20,000 Word Achievement

  1. Congrats, that’s awesome! I completely agree with you on the word count badges. I was like “okay, cool, I get a badge for 5,000 words and then 10,000 but now I have to wait to be congratulated until 25,000 words?!” LOL. I’ve been having the same burst of motivation in the last little while too. There’s a quote about the desire to write growing as you write more and more, and I find that to be very true. Happy writing 🙂

  2. Congratulations! I agree with about the badges for every 5k words. I’m just over 12K and looking at the 25K and thinking “I don’t know if I can make it” every time. SO, I like your idea of writing a post at every 5K milestone! Happy Writing, and congratulations!!!

  3. Kudos! I also stayed up way past my bedtime to reach 19K earlier in the week. Now I am just over 21K words. My two leads are reaching the end of the preparation stage (they’re plotting to expose the big bad corporation in my story) so they can move on to the next. Danger around every corner, all that fun stuff. The writing train never stops!

  4. Awesome!!!! I wish you the best! I can’t wait to read your posts. I’m tired and drank way too much coffee today and still tired.

Leave a Reply

