NaNo ’15: Staging My Comeback

  
Well I finally got to that elusive 30,000 word mark! It’s been a tough week NaNo-wise. Full of a lack of motivation to write, full of utter dislike of my novel and where it appears to be going, and full of disdain for myself for letting myself get off track and ultimately behind. 

But I think in the end, you find out who you really are based on how you react to failure. While I haven’t lost yet (there are still 9 days left to write!), I started to consider just giving up. Stopping where I was at. My first draft is terrible anyway. 

But I’d written so many words already! More than most people will ever write in their lifetimes! And dangit I wanted a first draft of something. So I pushed on. 

Finally last night I had a breakthrough. Just over 2,000 words and I finally pushed over the 30,000 word hump. I don’t think it’ll get easier yet. 40k is the home stretch, where you see the light at the end of the tunnel. But I’m pressing forward. 

I’m gonna have to write on our thanksgiving vacation, but that’s okay. I’m just going to try and write as much as I can before 3:00 on Wednesday so that I have less to worry about. 

Write on, fellow writers. November isn’t over yet! 

7 thoughts on “NaNo ’15: Staging My Comeback

  1. hang in there girl. Plenty of time to re-write & edit after November passes, what I say – all about hitting the Word Count for me, especially first time. The rest will come, but trust me, feel your pain. I had a few days like that, but I took a break & worked through too. Congrats on the 30K. 🙂

  2. Good luck, and keep doing the best you can! If you’re struggling with motivation, just think about what would be the most fun thing to write, and go from there. Maybe skip ahead, or try something random.

  3. I’ve had the same type of week and experience. Last week was rough, but I finally got back on track yesterday. After getting so far, I just can’t quit now, though I did feel like doing just that a few days ago. We will push on and persevere!

Leave a Reply

