NaNo ’15: Defeat

Well, I’m back from my Turkey Day vacation!

+1 wedding dress, +1 great visit with my family, but -1 NaNoWriMo win.

Damn.

I went home with my laptop and all intentions of writing while I was there. I just needed one or two good days for the entire week we were travelling. But when I tried to write in the car, I was afraid we were going to die (I’m a super paranoid passenger in a car, okay). And we immersed ourselves in the vacation. We only get one a year with Brad’s job, so I didn’t particularly want to sit at my parent’s house and not get out and take advantage of the trip. We drove a loooong way.

I’m not mad at all either (surprisingly). I almost saw it coming. That’s why I so bad wanted to be at 50,000 words before we left. When I didn’t make it, I by no means gave up on the idea, but I let myself be okay with not winning this year.

I loved the consolation email I got on Tuesday. It was motivating!

 

You might not have hit 50,000 words this month, but you did something tremendously important:

-You felt a story stirring in your heart, and you began to explore it.
-You bravely signed up to make creativity a priority in November.
-You created a beginning—a beginning that will lead to other beginnings.

My favorite was the last bullet. I created a beginning of something. Well, more than a beginning, but I digress. Sure, what I do have done will need a LOT of work, but it’s more than so many people have done. And for that, I am proud.

I plan to finish this draft this month. At the very least, I have a 2-week Christmas break from work (yay for working in education!) so it WILL get done.

In the meantime, I’m going to continue avoiding reading anything of it yet. I didn’t do any of the reading I said I would do over Thanksgiving break either, so I need to get on that.

So if you won, congratulations! If you lost, you’re in good company here. Let’s ALL promise not to let this project fall to the wayside forever.

And I promise not to let this blog fall to the wayside as well. I’m determined to continue writing, reading, and posting updates on all of it as often as I can.

 

 

11 thoughts on “NaNo ’15: Defeat

  1. Sometimes you need the vacation more than the word count 🙂 and you’re right, you have a beginning! Which in my opinion is one of the hardest pars of the story so congratulations!

  2. You’re so much farther than you ever were before! Chin up, you have many more accomplishments from this day forward! Congratulations on all you’ve accomplished so far (:

  3. Pingback: 2015 Year in Review | Musings of Danielle

Leave a Reply

