The Liebster Award

Kind of like those old notes I used to do one Facebook! However, this sounds much better because it’s called an ‘award’! And I got nominated by people I don’t know in person!

A great honor was bestowed upon me by two fellow bloggers! Jay and Helen nominated me — or rather, my blog — for the Liebster Award. The Liebster Award recognizes blogs with less than a 1000 followers and strives to increase collaboration and recognize newbie bloggers. Think of it as a game of blog tag. Person A nominates Person B. Person B must then answer a couple of questions on their blog and then dish out some nominations.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gave you.
  3. Tag 11 bloggers with less than 1,000 readers.
  4. Think of 11 questions for the bloggers you have nominated.
  5. Let them know you have nominated them through social media or their blog.

Since I was nominated twice, I will answer all 22 questions! Because why not? It’s Saturday night and I am bored! And this sounds like a funner way to get to know me!

From Helen:

What are you most looking forward to in 2016?
MY WEDDING! I’m getting married on June 25th, and I just can’t wait to be married already. And within a few months after that, we’ll most likely be moving to Texas finally. So this year is packed full of awesome stuff for me.

Where would you like to be five years from now?
Like many of us who blog about writing, I just really want to have something published that I’m proud of! I’d also like to be in a job that I do truly enjoy. At this point I still don’t know what that is, but my plan this year is to keep trying to figure it out.

What is your favorite food?
Well like a little kid, my favorite food changes just about once a week. Lately it’s shrimp of all kinds. Or I mean do cookies count? Because cookies are always my favorite. 😉

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?
I have quite a few (check them out here), but the short version is that I really want to continue working on blogging, reading and writing regularly. I’ve fallen off the wagon since I graduated from college in 2014, and my goal for this year is to get back to doing things that make me happy!

How active are you on social media? What are your favorite social media platforms?
I am almost too obsessed with social media. Actually, I think I need to find the next meeting of Facebookers Anonymous. I just got back into Twitter, but in order, my obsession goes Facebook, Instagram, Twitter.

What is your birth order and do you think that reflects your personality?
I am the oldest in my family, and I think because of it, I grew up very responsible and mature. Nothing was handed to me once I was old enough to make my own money. Well – that’s not entirely true. Besides that point, I was the designated babysitter so often, that I had no choice but to grow up super responsible.

What is the most influential book that you have ever read?
I pray that none of my readers judge me when I say this, but I don’t know! When I was younger, I read whatever I could get my hands on. And I can’t say that there has been one book tthat has had a profound effect on me. I’m sure one day I’ll figure out what that book is. But as of right now, I have no good answer for this question.

What is your favorite childhood book?
While it’s not technically just a book, my go-to series when I was a kid was Goosebumps/Fear Street. I’m pretty sure I read every single one of those books.

What was the last movie that you saw?
In its entirety – Hunger Games Mockingjay #2. Then like 2 days later I saw the last 3/4 of the first Hunger Games, haha.

Nutella or peanut butter?
Peanut butter. But I’ve never had Nutella (gasp!)

Lefty or righty?
I’m a righty. But I won’t lie, I tried to turn myself into a lefty. It didn’t work. 😦
AND NOW: From Jay:

What do you like to write? What specific genre?
I write primarily modern thrillers, somewhat in the New Adult genre.

What are your writing goals for 2016?
Simply? To write more. I went for an easily achievable goal. 😉

What kind of thing do you find yourself doing when you procrastinate on writing?
Oh, all sorts of things. 95% of the time, it’s social media! The other 5% I’m watching TV or Netflix. I always knew my DVR would be a terrible (but great) idea.

Do you talk to other writers about writing at all or no?
In person, not anymore. I do engage with Twitter follwers and blog followers regularly. But I really need to do more one on one type of writer conversations. In college, all the time. I went to a school well-known for creative writing so there were lots of us on campus.

Does reading a book/watching a movie inspire you to write? Does the genre matter?
My first Monday Musings post was about this conundrum. Is that the right word? Anyway, I absolutely have this problem – if you can call it that. I think it’s a problem because if I went on this urge everytime I got it (ie everytime I finish a movie or book), I would have 6,000 projects going at one time. Genre does not matter. They all spark a muse.

If you create fictional worlds for your writing, how in-depth do you go with worldbuilding?
I write only modern world stuff. No worldbuilding for me. 🙂

What do you plan on doing with your writing? Published writer, etc?
Published writer is always the goal! To make enough money I don’t need a full time job (or a job at all!). BUT I am very realistic in terms of what you get out of getting published. I’ll just be happy to see my book on a stranger’s bookshelf. 🙂

When did you start writing (what age)?
Sixth grade I think. At the least, that is the year I started writing a lot. It was primarily poetry, and it was prettyyyy awful. I wish I knew the words, but there was one about a stoplight! !  And they all rhymed ABAB CDCD, etc.

Related to the above, when did you decide that “writer” was something you wanted to be?
At some point in high school, I realized that music was not what I wanted to do with my life. Reading and writing was the best. I wanted that to be my life. So when we started doing projects about college and whatnot, I decided that English/Creative Writing would be my major, and the dream would be to be a writer. 🙂

What hobbies do you have that are unrelated to writing?
Call me the most boring person  on earth, but  I really don’t have anything I’d consider a “hobby.” I just kinda go with the flow!

Do you have any hobbies that don’t seem related to writing, but have ended up being applicable?
Haha, based on the last answer, no.

 

So those are my answers! Now this is where I’m supposed to nominate blogs. If you’ve already been nominated or just don’t want to do this, no hard feelings! Not 11, but here’s a few that I enjoy reading often:

  1. Kellyn Roth – Reveries
  2. Laura – Unorganized Chaos
  3. Julia – Julia Slaughter
  4. Mary – Mary Lamphere

My questions:

  1. What is your favorite flavor of jellybean?
  2. What’s your favorite Christmas movie?
  3. If you could live in any period of history, when would it be?
  4. Tell me 5 things that I’d see when I walk in your door?
  5. What kind of celebration would there be on a “St. YOU” day?
  6. Who would play you in a movie about your life?
  7. Give me three words that describe you.
  8. What was the best birthday you ever had?
  9. If you were a ghost, where would you haunt?
  10. What kind of car did you wish you had when you were a kid? What about now?
  11. If you had to make an iPod playlist named after yourself, what songs would be on it?

Thanks again for the nomination! It’s great seeing all the support we have for each other. 🙂

17 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: Discover New Blogs: The Liebster Award! | Bikurgurl

Leave a Reply

