Coffee Shops – My Therapy

 

coffee therapy.png

Friday, you got the pleasure of reading a wonderful guest post by Brent Jackson (if you didn’t read it, make sure you do!) about how for him, coffee shops are his second office.

After my mental breakdown on Wednesday (I call it that, but I don’t think it was that bad), I needed to recuperate. On Thursday, I don’t go into work until 2pm, so I stopped in at Starbucks (just a mile from work) and got up to the counter pondering what was going to give me the best start to my workday.

Deb (I seriously love her) was working, and she asked if I wanted my usual – a grande blonde roast, with room for cream. “It’ll have to be a pour over though, is that okay?”

I have no problem with pour overs, I get them all the time! But I wasn’t sure I was feeling the plain coffee thing today though. And I think she could sense my hesitation before I said yes.

She asked if I wanted her to use less coffee grounds or something, and that’s when I told her that I’d had a bad day the day before, and wanted something different.

We built up a new (somewhat expensive) drink together. A grande Clover Ethiopian Bitta (one of their Reserve blends) with 2 pumps of mocha (plus a splash of half&half and 3 Splendas – god I need to quit using Splenda), and y’all, it was AH-MAZING.

They were super quiet when I was there, so Deb and I chatted a little while I waited for my coffee about stuff. She mentioned that she had a master’s degree in counseling, and that she completely understood that to some people, coffee is a source of comfort, not always caffeine.

That is me to a T! I don’t rely on coffee for caffeine. I just feel so good after I drink it. Like it helps me solve problems. It sparks a muse when I’m writing. And the (usually) awesome baristas at the Starbucks I frequent (too often) help also.

She mentioned that when really rude people came in, which of course no one likes, they handle it of course, but she sees it as being that something in their life is breaking down, and they’re misdirecting their anger. Coffee helps them deal with their problems.

Now I’ve worked in food service, and I know some people are just plain rude. BUT I can totally see where she’s coming from. When I’m in a bad mood, I tend to lash out on Brad (he does the same), and I apologize immediately, because it’s usually not his fault (and vice versa). I’ve never lashed out on someone working in food service though. That’s a recipe for disaster, haha.

I rarely ever turn to alcohol in the event I have a crappy day. I did Wednesday night and thankfully White Zinfandel does not pair well with Nacho Cheese Doritos or I probably would have had more. Usually, I either stop at Starbucks, or brew up a cup in my Keurig and deal with my problems on my own. I also at some point end up calling and ranting to my mom.

So to me, coffee shops are where I go when I need a mental pick-me-up. Sometimes, the baristas can be free therapists (after the purchase of a beverage of course). And that’s pretty darn awesome.


I think everyone has a therapeutic thing they do on their own to solve their problems. What’s yours?

PS – Super Bowl Sunday so I must say — Go Broncos! 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Coffee Shops – My Therapy

  1. When I have a bad day. I dig even deeper into writing. Whether it’s my book or something else entirely. Sometimes, though, I’ll turn on my music and relax with a cup of coffee. In these times, I just try to let go of whatever is bothering me. Basically a put it down and leave it alone for a while approach. When I feel better, I’ll approach the problem head on and with a clear head.
    Also, my brother, my uncle, and my grandfather are all broncos fans so, hahaha, They agree with your sentiment.

    • Right on! I’m working on getting writing to be my therapy. Took a long break from it and I’m working on making it not as stressful experience like it is sometimes (well, getting started can be haha).

      • haha. Yeah, writing itself can be stressful. Starting is my biggest stressor when it comes to writing. Sometimes, it helps to just walk away from the writing and enjoy that cup of coffee too.

  2. Why do Starbucks coffees always sound so delicious? I’m not a coffee drinker (love the smell of a freshly brewed batch though!), but the culture surrounding that one beverage is just amazing.

    Anyway… my usual therapeutic/problem-solving trick is grabbing a can of Pepsi Max and playing my favourite computer game with earphones jammed in my ears catching up on my latest podcasts. (If I’m really stressed out, that’s when my writing gets a nice boost). As much as it sounds like avoidance, the problem is still there, I’m just calmer and quietly working it out at the back of my mind – kind of a weird ‘no muss, no fuss’ thing!

    • So true! There’s another post coming up soon about coffee culture in social media. It is amazing how much people rely on that stuff. It’s like crack!
      Right on to knowing how to solve your problems. When I jam in headphones, it’s to play loud, loud music. I’ll probably go deaf early in life. Oh well. 😉

      • I’m (seriously) a little hard of hearing now from doing the same thing — get the good headphones that go outside your ears!! Save yourself in your {middle!} old age! 😉

  3. It sounds like you’ve had a series of bad days, hopefully it’ll break soon. I tend to go to bed and write with music, usually about bad things. Writing can definitely work as therapy, but sometimes you have to build the associations first. Also a big fan of music for writing, or any other time!

Leave a Reply

