Camp NaNoWriMo April ’16

YALL.

Don’t ever plan a wedding. If you get engaged, go to the courthouse and get married, and then have a backyard barbecue or something.

The stress of wedding planning has finally made the inevitable happen. We’re postponing our wedding date. I can’t plan a wedding from afar. It’s just so stressful.

And it really just crept up on everyone. We had an 18-month engagement, and we all still somehow managed to put off everything until 4 months before the big day. If you do have a wedding, pro tip: DON’T DO THAT.

Through the midst of making this decision, I decided that I needed to creatively get all of the stress out. Pushing this back by 4-5 months is such a relief, but now I need to put it all down on paper.

HENCE – MY CAMP NANOWRIMO PROJECT

I Should've Gotten Eloped (1).jpg

Here’s the description I wrote on my personal Facebook:

“My next writing project is a creative “non”fiction satire about how terribly I feel about wedding planning. It will be hilarious and sad and hilarious. No promises that I don’t drink wine while writing it too. I’ve drank so much lately.”

We’ve talked about using writing as therapy (and coffee too) and I’m finally going to use it as an outlet for all this craziness.

I don’t have a legit synopsis to share just yet, but I’m working on some planning-type things now so I’ll share that with the world once I’ve figured it out.

Gosh this is going to be a fun one to write.


Here’s a link to my camper profile. Are YOU taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo this year?

33 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo April ’16

  1. I am getting married in three months, and my motto has gone from “I can’t wait for the wedding” to “I can’t wait until the wedding is over.” It’s the worst.

  2. I feel for you! I am not a fan of weddings for all of the reasons you listed. Too much stress, too much money, too much interference. That is no way to begin a lifelong commitment. All that matters is the bride and groom. Bride? Check! Groom? Check! Commit to each other and then have a big party to celebrate!

  3. Your Camp NaNoWriMo does indeed sound fun with a lot of potential. Hope it has the desired therapeutic effect! I’m working to complete a failed Camp NaNoWriMo attempt from a couple of years back.

    If I ever get married, I’ll definitely go for the registry office if at all possible, though my number one priority will be making sure that nobody brings any small children. The last wedding I attended positively hammered that lesson into my head.

  4. Awesome idea and what a great way to channel your emotions during such a stressful time. I’m thinking about doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year too and thought it’d be a good way to get another story on the go after I rewrite my NaNo 2015 novel.

  5. My husband and I planned to “elope” with just our parents and siblings, but then we made a rookie mistake – we told our parents (well, our mothers) and they said, no. I regretted having an actual wedding a dozen times in the planning but to be honest, the memories of that day are so precious, I’m glad we did it.

  6. this is totally something to be pondered about. My college friends are getting married one by one and it seems like they’re trying to beat each other’s wedding ceremonies with different sorts of like STYLES and like how expensive the whole thing is. The worst part is that it looks like their just doing it for FACEBOOK purpose only. “PRE NUPTIAL” photographs has been an “it” here in my country and it’s getting worst. I mean, they’re doing it anywhere, like in public, taking pictures of whatever…I’m not mad. I’m just thinking about how they could have used the money for the professional photographers salary in their future. See this, the amount of PRO PHOTOGRAPHERS are like $1,000 – $2,000 (with the video of everything). I’m not mad, I’m just thinking it’s not practical. But Hey! WHo needs money anyway when you are rich. LOL.

    • I truly don’t see the point in competing, but I guess it’s human nature for some to feel a need to upstage others. Weddings SHOULD just be about the couple getting married. Unfortunately, I’ve learned it is SO difficult to make it work that way. Everybody always has an opinion.

    • I don’t know much about Camp NaNo since this is the first time I’ve done it, but it doesn’t look like you have NaNoBuddies like in regular NaNo. I guess they make it more reliant on the cabin thing? Because you can create your own cabin and invite whomever you want into it instead of being randomly sorted.

  7. I’m getting married 6 days after Camp NaNo. Luckily just the registry office… and then a party at our house the following day. That said, it’s not our first marriages, and we’ve both already done the big wedding thing–we’re happy skipping that this time around. Personally, I just wanted to elope at Gretna Green ^_^

    Good luck all around!

  8. i’ve been to enough weddings to recommend just going to the courthouse.

    (well, maybe i could count ’em on my hand…)

    but i mean, srsly. and the money could go to an extra badass bachelorette party or sumf’n.

    or, y’know, me…? πŸ˜›

    best o’ wishes!!! be seeing ya.

    p.s. had white chocolate mocha on monday after about five years of being coffee free! tasted as awesome as i remember, but stimulants aren’t for me. q_q

    <3<3<3

  9. Sorry the wedding planning has been so stressful! But your Camp NaNo project sounds like fun, and a good way to deal with the stress. πŸ˜› I’m still debating over whether or not I should attempt Camp NaNo, but I guess I still have a few more weeks to decide!

    • Yeah you’ve got like 3 weeks to decide. I set a super modest goal so I can at least win, but I don’t see it as being too much of a stretch to get there. This thing will write itself I think haha

      • Good idea! If I do end up participating, I’ll probably set a small word goal––and I’d use it to continue something I’ve already started. I just haven’t quite decided what, haha.

Leave a Reply

