Long Time, No Post

Outback

Good morning, friends. And thank you.

You stuck with me even during a tumultuous 2-week hiatus in which I made excuses for myself, got so much dental work done, and started really considering what my future holds for me.

So to update, I wrote a total of 147 words during Camp NaNoWriMo. That same feeling washed over me on day 1 as it did last year, where I had built up too much excitement it seems for the novel I’d been planning to write. And then when the first day came along, it all washed away. I was stoked to write I Should’ve Eloped. But I think in postponing the wedding, all the anger I held towards planning the damn thing washed away too.

But that’s just an excuse. I could’ve powered through, but I chose not to. Instead, we’ve almost watched the entire series of Gilmore Girls on Netflix (not in 2 weeks, but still).

I had several cavities filled over a couple different appointments. Focusing on one part of the mouth at a time instead of numbing it all and knocking them out in 2 hours at one time (geez that sounds terrible). For now, I am done with dentist appointments until my 6 month cleaning. Recommendation: Don’t go 9 years without seeing a dentist. 

I’ve switched over to DECAF COFFEE. Gasp! Yes, this caffeinated writer is caffeinated no more. But I’m not changing the name. Besides, I’m sure I’ll switch back soon enough. I’m trying to implement some lifestyle changes, ya know – wanna get my wedding dress taken in 😉 – and the beginning of that is to deal with the withdrawals ASAP. So, no caffeine and cutting back on sugar. Last week was the worst of it. We’ll see what happens!

I’ve started to really consider what I want to do with the rest of my life. Currently I’m a paraprofessional in a college library. Library school will run me about $20k if I do the online program I’ve been looking at, and minimum about 4 semesters of my life.

What I’ve also considered, and lately much more heavily, is teaching. My BA is in English, and while I was that problem child in high school who only read the Sparknotes (like many, I LOVED reading. I hated being FORCED to read), I’m beginning to think I may really enjoy teaching English. Being allowed to put my own twist on things. Spending my free evenings drinking wine and grading papers and wondering why I did this to myself, haha.

See, we’re hopefully moving soon to Texas. There, they have an alternative certification program that only takes a few months, plus either an internship or 1 year of mentored teaching. Then you have a teaching license and the salaries where we’re moving to for teachers starts at $50,000/year!

For what it’s worth, as a librarian, that’s probably all I’ll ever make. And library school will push my student loan debt way too close to the 6-figure mark. (Tip: liberal arts school? Great experience, hard on the wallet. Think long and hard.)

With my consideration of being a middle/high school English teacher, I’ve realized I should probably go back and read the books I avoided in school. In addition, reading some more contemporary works that are relatable to said classics.

For instance, first on my list is To Kill A Mockingbird. And what I’ve read is that a comparable more modern novel is titled The Girl Who Fell from the Sky. Now I have read To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s a fantastic novel from what I remember. But getting read it for leisure, on my own time, is A-MAZING.

I have a whole list of novels I want to read, including both classics and more modern YA novels. So because of that, I’m choosing to take a small hiatus from writing for awhile. Like an adviser told me before I went to college – to be a good writer, you have to be a good reader. Maybe I’ve been missing out all these years having read very little of the literary classics.

I’m still working on me. But I’m hoping that I’ll have more posts to share soon.


Do you have any books I should surely have on my reading list? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Long Time, No Post

  1. The great state of Texas would be lucky to have ya! I also skipped out on all of the required reading for the same thing, I love to read but hate being forced to read something. If you haven’t read Grapes of Wrath, The Scarlet Letter, Frankenstein, Beowulf, The Outsiders, Lord of the Flies, Shakespeare, Animal Farm, The Odyssey, Brave New World, and I could make this list longer than that is a great place to start. These are just some of the required readings I had 9th-12th grade. I didn’t read most of them until I graduated, and some I read before they were assigned, but its a start. I am an English Education Major and still have some trouble reading the required materiel (defiant I am). I wish you the best of luck on working on you and your new endeavor!

    • Thank you! I am originally from Texas, but became displaced for college and then I met my fiance so my plans to return got delayed. But it’s FINALLY happening! Thank you for the tips. I believe I have all of those on my reading list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

