Fiction Friday #1: What I Read This Week

FICTION FRIDAY.jpg

A new blog segment! Yay!

Fiction Friday is different for everyone. But for The Caffeinated Writer, Fiction Friday will be a round-up of the books I read this week, plus a short summary of my feelings about that book.

Most of these books are classics or very popular contemporary YA novels, so I probably won’t write formal reviews for most of them.

SO, without further ado:

What I Read This Week:

To Kill a Mockingbird: 5/5
I’m pretty sure I actually did read this book in high school, but I clearly did not appreciate it for what it was. I also didn’t remember much of what happened. Like the ending threw me for a loop. It’s a fantastic book, and if you’ve slacked on reading it like I have, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you pick it up again.

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky: 4/5
I found a list out on the Internet somewhere that listed comparisons for you to read if you enjoyed a certain classic novel. Considering I’m hoping to teach English/LA soon, I thought this might be a good exercise for me. Being able to compare old novels that (admittedly) many people do not want to read, to newer novels that may resonate better is a great idea. This one was told to be comparable to TKaM, and I would agree. Written from the perspective of a young girl who is dealing with race issues after a huge setback in life. I only gave it 4 stars because of its format. The different POVs don’t throw me off, but the lack of linear movement does. All of a sudden we were like 4 or 6 years in the future (I think?) and I got super confused. But if stream of consciousness (esque) novels are your thing, you’ll love this one.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower: 5/5
I read this book in one day because putting it down just didn’t seem like the right thing to do. The writing style is different, a story being told through a letter to a person that we never discover who they are. We live Charlie’s life through him, and Chbosky is so great at making you feel for Charlie constantly. He’s going through a lot. Especially his freshman year of high school (shudder). I highly recommend. It’s a pretty quick read. I’ll watch the movie soon.

Fahrenheit 451: A Novel: 4/5
In all honesty, I’m only halfway through this one but I’m preemptively rating it. This was a book I read the Sparknotes only for in high school. And upon the first 10 pages, I wasn’t really surprised. The language in the beginning is a little big and unnecessary, if you ask me. Really extravagant descriptions, a lot of hyphenated words, and some long drawn out sentences that lost me halfway through. But I was determined to get through this one. So I kept reading, and got through almost half the book last night. And it’s actually really great! A society where books are banned. The horror! Again, if you skipped this one in high school, give it a read. Just push through the beginning. It gets better. 🙂


That’s all for Fiction Friday this week. I’m deciding which books to read next week still. I’ve got The Fault in Our Stars checked out from the library already, so that’s first. Then I’m thinking Lord of the Flies, Catcher in the Rye, and The Hunger Games. 🙂


Have similar/different feelings about these books? Have some recommendations? Post them below!

 

4 thoughts on “Fiction Friday #1: What I Read This Week

  1. These are good books to start off with. I have had The Girl Who Fell from the Sky on my list for the longest time but haven’t yet for various reasons. Fahrenheit 451 was one of my absolute favorites in junior high along with The Outsiders! I also haven’t read Lord of the Flies yet so I am curious to see what you think of that one, but I loved Hunger Games, The Fault in Our Stars, To Kill A Mockingbird, and Catcher in the Rye. Good luck on your readings!

  2. I’m catching up on some classics a lot of people read in high school, especially George Orwell’s work. Based on your list, you would enjoy Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill, which is a short of modern retelling of Margaret Atwood’s book The Handmaid’s Tale. O’Neill’s book is YA. I’ll have a review of it in a week or two on my blog!

Leave a Reply

