Fiction Friday #2

FICTION FRIDAY

Like everything I do in life, I get really excited about something, do it for a week, and then completely forget about it.

It’s my fatal flaw, really.

I guess it’s not as bad as sitcoms where they show the child in the family having done like 10,000 different things for just a week at a time and not committing to anything. I commit! It just takes me longer to accomplish things because I commit to lots of stuff and then jump around them endlessly.

So, I present a very measly Fiction Friday:

 The Fault in Our Stars – 3/5

I had yet to pick this one up, and I hadn’t seen the movie yet, so I figured The Fault in Our Stars would probably be a good book to read. It was good, but that’s all I can really say about it. It was nothing special to me. Parts of the writing I loved (maybe that’s because I discovered that John Green and I have a somewhat similar writing style), but nothing about the book made me really excited. I have the movie in my backpack, but I haven’t watched it yet…. Probably because I know it’ll make me cry.

Lord of the Flies – 4/5

This was another high school classic that I never brought myself to read. Probably because the very first assignment we had for the early chapters involved extremely overanalyzing every single word of this novel. Now that I’m reading it just to read, I actually don’t hate it. Some parts of it are hard to follow especially considering how many characters there are, but the message is pretty clear.  This is another one I’d really recommend if you skipped over it in school.


I tried to get into Catcher in the Rye last week, but I just really could not get into it. I tried. So I set it aside and promised to give it another shot a different time. We’ll see.

Next up on the list is The Hunger Games and Paper TownsGoing for contemporary next week, and giving John Green one more chance.


What was on your reading list this week? (Feel free to post a blog link if you already blogged about it!)

10 thoughts on “Fiction Friday #2

  1. I’ve never read Catcher in the Rye either. It’s funny sometimes how you manage to make it to a certain age but somehow miss classics like that. You’ll love Hunger Games! Happy Reading

      • We’ve not seen the movies – we’d wanted to read the books first – but couldn’t get into the first in the series. Maybe this is the summer the reading will strike me? Looking forward to your review!

  2. This makes me want to give Lord of the Flies a chance. I hated, HATED, having to analyze everything in books. It just takes the fun out of it, especially when your teacher(s) want you and the rest of your class to all analyze and interpret the book the same way… ugh… But who knows, I might like it!

    • I’ve found that getting a chance to read a book for the story has helped tremendously. I too hate analyzing every piece of the story, and I feel like lord of the flies we were analyzing every sentence!

      • We did that with Brave New World (a book I loved and read previously) and my class actually made it to where I didn’t enjoy the book anymore. It is crazy the difference it makes when we can read for pleasure without having to analyze and be so uniform in our understandings/take-aways from these books.

Leave a Reply

