8 Week Challenge: Update 1

the caffeinated writer

So accountability time!

To refresh your memory, my eight week challenge involves pushing myself to make some good changes and form some healthy habits for myself. For me, this is so that when I move, I feel like I’ve made some accomplishments and I’ve set myself up for success in Texas.

My challenges to myself were to read 30 minutes a day, write 500 words a day, and work on my health.

So here’s my end of week 1 update:

On some parts of the challenge, I did better this week. Others, not so much.

Read 30 minutes a day:

I’ll admit here that I did not accomplish this every day last week. I believe there were only 2 days in which I read anything at all, let alone 30 minutes. Part of me thinks it’s just the book I’m reading. But I’m ALMOST DONE with it, so I’ve gotta work my way through it. And then I can read more things I can easily get into. 🙂

Write 500 words a day:

Did I accomplish this everyday last week? No. But I did average over 500 words a day for the week. So that counts for something! I’m still trying to work on the everyday thing, to help build a habit. But the word count thing for me is huge (was just under 4,000 words last week on a remake of an old work)! I haven’t written that much since I finished my NaNo from November at the end of last year. Yay me!

Work on my health:

During the week last week, I made a really good effort at this. I did not go to the gym at all, I admit, but my eating was healthier than usual. I only ate out twice for lunch, at Subway and Chipotle. I make pretty good choices at both of those restaurants. I drank tons of water.

And then the weekend came. This weekend though I knew I’d be indulging. It was our 2 year college reunion. All my friends came back, as well as another 20 friends from our graduating class. I drank my weight in vodka/cranberries and ate like a queen (although dinners for the most part were decent. Like I even ate green beans at the last dinner, yay me!). There was lots of walking though, so that definitely counts for something. 🙂


THIS WEEK:

More specific goals for this week —

  • Finish this book I’m stuck on, so I can read something fun.
  • Continue working on the piece I started last week and hopefully finish it.
  • Get to the gym at least twice, preferably 3 times.

Not eating fast food will be easy, because I threw more money into my savings account for the move, so I only have $50 to get me through until next Friday.


I’d also like to throw a shoutout to the 3 people who’ve contacted me about taking on the 8 week challenge. Check out their blogs if you get a chance!

You can always join in at any time! Just hit up my contact page and let me know you’re joining. Tag all posts using ‘eight week challenge’ and I’ll follow along. I’ll also send weekly emails to see how you’re doing so far.

Time to get working on these goals for the week. Have a good one!


EDITED TO ADD THAT THIS IS MY 

100TH POST

Thanks for following my blog! Can’t wait to see what the next 100 brings!

8 thoughts on “8 Week Challenge: Update 1

  1. I love the challenge – and that you are on here and letting us know what you’re doing. It’s awesome!

    Also, I’m pretty sure if you ate some green beans, you get to deduct something unhealthy you ate, because green beans are not the best. Not the best at all.

Leave a Reply

