Fiction Friday #5

FICTION FRIDAY

I’ve been reading a lot lately. Which is GREAT. Because after I got my job a 2 months out of college, I stopped reading almost altogether. Not like “I’ll never read again!” I just wasn’t reading.

I just got wrapped up in TV, and the occasional movie. Plus I work in a library with no fun reading books. Just medical sciencey type books. Bleh.

I hit up the public library twice in the last week and half. And I’ve got two more books that will likely be waiting for me on Monday, so I’ve gotta get to reading the two books I still have to read! Ah!

These are good problems to have though.

The only problem with reading so much, is the lack of packing I have done. And we’re officially THREE WEEKS OUT from moving day! Crap! I’m not gonna quit reading though. I just need to figure out how to manage my time better, haha.

Okay, without further ado, here’s what I’ve been reading lately.



The Secret Life of Bees – I had this one written down on my reading list. I’d read on a Buzzfeed list somewhere that they highly recommended this book, especially to English teachers. I could definitely see this book being included in a curriculum (what grade though, no idea). It’s a fantastic book. Is it original, nothing like it out there? Nah. Some Goodreads reviewer said that supposedly if you’ve read “The Help,” you’ve read this book. No idea if that’s true or not. But it’s a great read. I’d highly recommend it.



Thirteen Reasons Why – This was another ‘found on a Buzzfeed list for English teachers’ book. This one was actually the #3 most challenged book in 2012, according to the ALA, for reasons including: “Drugs/alcohol/smoking, sexually explicit, suicide, unsuited for age group.” So yes, all of the above are in this book. It’s about a girl who commits suicide, but leaves behind 13 self-recorded tapes about why she did it. Because people don’t realize how their (sometimes small) actions against someone can change their entire life. Another fantastic read. Highly recommend.



Exit, Pursued by a Bear – I think this one showed up as a recommendation to me from Goodreads. The title intrigued me, although for what it’s worth I didn’t understand the reference to A Winter’s Tale until my coworker pointed it out. It’s a girl who is sexually assaulted at cheerleading camp and has to deal with the fallout of it all. She doesn’t remember a single thing about the ordeal. As far as the story goes, it’s a great, empowering novel about survivors. The writing is subpar (hence my 3 star review on Goodreads) but if you can overlook the forced dialogue, I think anyone could enjoy this novel as well.


What did you read this week?

8 thoughts on “Fiction Friday #5

  1. 13 reasons why is a book I found difficult to like at first but now I have read it a dozen times I think it deals with the subjects that it does in a unique way. I’ve been reading The age of Reason by Jean – Paul Sartre. Heavy going!

  2. Reading: The Book Thief, Do Not Wash Hands in Plates and an excerpt for a requested book review. I couldn’t get through The Secret Life of Bees! I heard all about how great it was, but couldn’t get into it. Did you have to push through the beginning or did the book grab you right away?

Leave a Reply

