Eight Week Challenge: Update 6

the caffeinated writer

I just noticed while scrolling through my blog trying to remember what week we’re on, that the only posts I’ve had lately are the 8WC or Fiction Friday. So that’s kind of boring. Ultimately though, until we move, that’s probably all it’s going to be. I’m not doing much right now besides reading, SOME writing, and POKEMON GO. But more on that later.

Time is sure flying by on this challenge! 2 weeks left of the challenge means 2 weeks left at my job! Eek!

So here is my end of week 6 update:


To refresh your memory, my eight week challenge involves pushing myself to make some good changes and form some healthy habits for myself. For me, this is so that when I move, I feel like I’ve made some accomplishments and I’ve set myself up for success in Texas.

My challenges to myself were to read 30 minutes a day, write 500 words a day, and work on my health.

This week:

Read 30 minutes a day: I did not accomplish this one every day last week. I only read Exit, Pursued by a Bear last week, and spent the rest of the week with my head in my iPhone hunting Pokemon. Seriously, I can’t stop.

Write 500 words a day: Like the last few weeks, I have not written anything. Like the last few weeks again, I blame nobody but myself. I’m not pushing myself to do these things like I should be. I’ve got two weeks left. I’m being realistic, but I’m hoping to at least get some writing in before the end of the challenge.

Work on my health: For once, this is the one I’d say I progressed on more than anything this last week. Pokemon Go came out and after I installed it on Tuesday, I have motivated myself to walk more than I have in a long time. Not a lot a lot. But I’m a work in progress. I think I’m going to walk around the park downtown after I get off work today (hello 7 PokeStops), especially because I have a 10km egg to hatch! Was my eating on point last week? Nah. But it was BETTER. And that’s what matters!


This week I’m hoping for SOME accomplishment on all fronts. I’m going to use the rest of lunch time after posting this blog post to start writing. I did sign up for Camp NaNo this year, with a goal of just 10,000 words. I’ve just gotta get started. I’m reading “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” and I’ve got Pokemon to catch! While I’m definitely not going to hit my goal of 15 lbs lost from this challenge, I’m hoping to at least have some kind of loss to share.


Don’t forget to check in on my friends also taking part in the 8 week challenge!

And check out Mollie Hunt‘s last post of the 8WC.


Have a good week!

2 thoughts on “Eight Week Challenge: Update 6

  1. Pokemon Go sounds SO cool! I am trying to wait until I can legally download it in the UK, but so many of my friends already! I would feel so productive if I wrote 500 words a day.

Leave a Reply

