2016 Year in Review

image

So I scrolled back through my blog posts and found the one where I listed my goals for 2016. So here we are, in the last week of a very up and down year, and it’s time to look back and see what kind of accomplishments I made.

Here we go:

Blogging:

  • Get 500 followers
    • Accomplished. I currently have 507 followers. Yay!
  • 10,000 views
    • Close but no cigar. Had I not stopped blogging, I’d probably have accomplished this one. But 9,100ish views is not something to scoff at!
  • Have an active following, where no one is afraid to comment and discuss!
    • I would consider this accomplished. 
  • Continue posting a few times a week
    • I was doing great until we moved. But that’s okay.
  • Never forget a Monday Musings
    • Nope. MM died out pretty early in the year lol
  • Post at least 20 book reviews
    • Did I even post one? 
  • Bring in more followers to the blog from Twitter
    • I did bring in significantly more readers this year from Twitter than last year. So check.
  • Get 250 Twitter followers
    • 415 as of right now. Check!

Writing:

  • Finish a second draft of Cover Up
    • I need to finish the first draft too, LOL
    • First draft was finished. Second draft was never started.
  • Finish the first draft of Where I Belong and start editing
    • This was not a good writing year for me.
  • Write two additional pieces of short fiction per month
    • Not even one.

Reading:

  • Read 30 books (I know it’s not much, but it’s more than I’ve read in a loooong time)
    • According to Goodreads, I read 17 books this year. I averaged over 1 a month, and that’s an accomplishment to me.

Personal:

  • Get married!
    • CHECK!
  • Feel good in my dress (I’m really trying to get it taken in, but we’ll see)
    • I was never NOT going to feel good in my dress.
  • Save another $1,000
    • We saved a lot, spent it all on the move, and are back over $1,000 in savings. So check!
  • Go out and do things with new people
    • Seriously I need friends here
    • I never accomplished this in Roanoke haha

I’ve posted about my slump already for the year. But I’m over the negative thoughts. I may not have been able to mark off all my resolutions for this year, but I made a lot of progress in life this year. I built this beautiful blog. We moved to Texas. Brad and I are finally married.

Next up: big moves with my career. A house. A new dog (or 3).

Bring it on, 2017. I’m ready for you!

4 thoughts on “2016 Year in Review

  1. Pingback: at Milliways with a pen

Leave a Reply

